Dim Sum Yum!

Written by Jessica (The One Who Doesn’t Share Food)*

August was my second choice of 2016, and I had just finished the latest season of MasterChef Canada so was excited when I read about R&D, the Chinatown restaurant owned by winner Eric Chong and judge Alvin Leung. Being Chinese myself, I am a big fan of dim sum! *Dim sum I will share. That just means I get to eat more!

The group ordered a bunch of dishes to share, and some just for ourselves. A few of us shared the Crispy Pork Belly Bao, Chili Crab Siu Mai, Potstickers and Scallop Ceviche. The crispy pork belly bao was amazing! It was my favourite dish. I shared the siu mai with Lyndsay, and she didn’t like it that much, so I got the eat the rest of the plate which was fine by me! Zaira had the Octopus À La Plancha and it was a well grilled piece of octopus with chimichurri, pig’s ears (which she happily gave to Anita) and a sichuan miso.

IMG_4964
Pork Belly Bao

 

IMG_4963
Potstickers

Eric’s signature dish on MasterChef was lobster chow mein. The chow mein on the menu was Laksa Seafood Chow Mein (see main banner picture). The dish was very spicy but still delicious. The portion size is really good too! I was already a little full from all the dim sum so ended up taking half of it home to my boyfriend who also thoroughly enjoyed it (I made him watch MasterChef Canada with me so he knew who Eric was).

All in all, everyone really enjoyed their drinks and food. Our night was made even better because Eric was there! A few of us stealthily snapped a picture of him, and he has even liked some of our posts on Instagram!

IMG_4967
Sneaky Pictures

I would absolutely go back as I love dim sum, and the dim sum there had a modern and delicious twist on it.

Until we eat again.

Leave a comment